About Us

International Conference on
Natural and Cultural Heritage in South Asia

Jointly Organized By:
Pokhara University
Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Dhungepatan, Pokhara-30, Nepal
Department of English
Tribhuvan University Prithvi Narayan Campus
Bagar, Pokhara-1, Nepal


Pokhara University Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Pokhara University was established in 1997 under Pokhara University Act, 1997 with Nepal Government's policy of adopting a multi-university system with an aim to expand the access to higher education. It is currently celebrating twenty-five years of glory. The university is a an autonomous higher education institution. It has four faculties: Faculty of Management, Faculty of Health Sciences, Faculty of Science and Technology, and Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences. These four faculties run a total of 63 academic programs in Bachelor, Post Graduate Diploma, Master, MPhil and PhD levels, which are being run under the university’s constituent schools, joint-constituent and affiliated colleges across the country.

Among the four faculties, the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences (FHSS) is dedicated to excellence in teaching, learning and research in the field of humanities and social sciences with a focus on sustainable development and social engineering. FHSS aims to produce world-class academicians, policy analysts, development professionals, and social engineers equipped with scientific knowledge, intellectual insight, technical expertise, practical skill as well as multidisciplinary distinction and interdisciplinary comprehensiveness required to meet the needs of the 21st century. It provides learning opportunities in the contemporary and frontier fields of social sciences fostering critical thinking, creative expression, innovation, and intellectual curiosity by developing new courses, increasing and strengthening research activities, organizing national/international conferences, seminars and symposium, publishing refereed journals along with providing technical, professional and consultancy services to government and non-government organizations within the nation and around the globe.

The Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences is currently offering Bachelor of Development Studies (BDEVS), Bachelor of English and Communication Studies (BECS), Bachelor of Entrepreneurship Development (BED), Master in Population, Gender and Development (MPGD), Master of Development Studies (MDEVS), Master of Arts in English (MA in English), Master of Philosophy in English (MPhil in English), and Doctor of Philosophy in Humanities, and Sustainable Development (Research Track Only) at the constituents school, affiliated colleges and doctoral committee under the faculty. Visit this site for details: https://pu.edu.np/

Prithvi Narayan Campus

With over 60 years of its history, Prithvi Narayan Campus is one of the oldest and largest campuses of Tribhuvan University and is striving for finding solutions to challenges and preparing students for leadership in the 21st century.

The campus was founded on 1 September 1960 in the western region. The campus now has 5 schools: Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences, Faculty of Management, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Education, and Institute of Science & Technology. It has 33 departments and runs 32 academic programs. The campus has about 521 teaching and about 100 nonteaching staff who have involved in providing higher education to 14,702 students in various academic programs.

In 2018, the campus was awarded the “Best Campus of the Year” by the Ministry of Education, Nepal. In 2019, the campus was accredited by the University Grants Commission (UGC), Nepal as one of the QAA certified higher education institutions in the country.

The campus is special, which lies at the panoramic city of lakes. The time here will be among the most memorable of our visitors’ life. While at the campus, each of our visitors will be at the heart of a welcoming, vibrant and tourist spot city. Visit this site for details: www.pncampus.edu.np