Pokhara University Senate

Pokhara University Senate is as the supreme body of the University.  Except the ex-officio members, the Chancellor on the recommendation of the Executive Council shall nominate the other members of the Senate. At present, the constitution of the Senate shall be as follows: –


S.N. Region Designation Name Remarks
A) Chancellor Chairperson Mr. Pushpa Kamal Dahal “Prachanda”, Prime Minister of Nepal Ex-officio
B) Pro-Chancellor Vice-Chairperson Mr. Dhaniram Poudel, Minister for Education, Nepal Ex-officio
C) Vice-Chancellor Member Prof. Chiranjeebi Prasad Sharma VC, Pokhara University, Lekhnath, Kaski
D) Two persons from amongst Vice-Chancellors of other Universities Member 1. Prof. Dr. Upendra Kumar Koirala VC, Mid Western University, Birendranagar, Surkhet
2. Prof. Bhusan Shrestha VC, Far-western University, Mahendranagar, Kanchanpur
E) Secretary, Ministry of Education Member Mr. Bishwo Prakash Pandit Ex-officio
F) Three persons from amongst the educationists Member 1. Assoc. Prof. Hari Prasad Tripathi Institute of Forestry (T.U.), Pokhara, Kaski
2. Assoc. Prof. Kamal Dhakal Prithivi Narayan Campus (T.U.), Pokhara, Kaski
3. Lecturer Mr. Kamal Raj Poudel Prithivi Narayan Campus (T.U.), Pokhara, Kaski
G) Deans Member 1. Prof. Dr. Indra Prasad Tiwari Dean, Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences, PU
2. Dr. Karna Beer Paudel Dean, Faculty of Management Studies, PU
3. Dr. Khem Raj Joshi Dean, Faculty of Health Science, PU
4. Er. Buddhi Raj Joshi Dean, Faculty of Science & Technology, PU
H) Three persons from amongst the Mayors of the Municipalities including the Mayor of Pokhara Municipality Member
I) Four persons from amongst the Campus Chiefs Member 1. Prof. Dr. Narayan Sangraulla Campus Chief, Shahid Ramnath Dahal Smirti College, Kathmandu
2. Mr. Baburam Upadhyaya Campus Chief, United Technical College, Chitwan
3. Mr. L. P. Bhanu Sharma Campus Chief, Apex College, Kathmandu
4. Mr. Shivahari Sharma Mudwari Campus Chief, National Academy of Science & Technology (NAST), Dhangadi
J) Three persons from amongst the Chairperson of the Subject Committees of the University Member 1. Prof. Dr. Prem Raj Panta Chairperson, Management Subject Committee, PU
2. Prof. Dr. Bharat Raj Pahari Chairperson, Civil & Architecture Engineering Subject Committee, PU
3. Mr. Bhesh Raj Kandel Chairperson, Elecrtonics & Communication Subject Committee, PU
K) Representative of Nepal Professor Union Member Mr. Rameshwor Upadhyaya Chairperson, Nepal Teachers’ Association
L) Representative, Pokhara University Teachers Association Member Lecturer Mr. Nirajan Bam Chairperson, Pokhara University Teachers’ Association
M) Three persons from teachers Member 1. Prof. Dr. Navin Shrestha School of Health & allied Sciences, PU
2. Lecturer Dr. Ram Prasad Aryal School of Development Social Engineering, PU
3. Lecturer Mr. Balaram Bhattarai School of Business, PU
N) Three persons from amongst the Presidents of the District Development Committees including the President of the Kaski District Development Committee Member
O) Chairperson of the University Grants Commission or a member designated by him Member Prof. Dr. Parasar Koirala Chairperson, UGC
P) Three persons from amongst those who are fond of education and social workers Member 1. Mr. Punya Prasad Paudel Dhikurpokhari-7, Kaski
2. Mr. Deepak Koirala Pokhara-9, Kaski
3. Mr. Khem Raj Paudel Pokhara-25, Kaski
Q) Four persons from amongst the industrialists, traders and farmers Member 1. Mr. Bindu Kumar Thapa Chairperson, Pokhara Chamber of Commerce, Pokhara
2. Mr. Laxmi Prasad Tripathi Chairperson, Lekhnath Chamber of Commerce, Lekhnath
3. Mr. Bhisnu Paudel Lekhnath, Kaksi
4. Mr. Ganesh Bahadur Shrestha Chairperson, Laxmi Group, Pokhara
R) Two persons from amongst the donors Member 1. Mr. Khag Raj Adhikari Lekhnath-10, Kaski
2. Assoc. Prof. Hut Raj Sharma Prithivi Narayan Campus (T.U.), Pokhara
S) Two persons from the Headmasters of Higher Secondary Schools Member 1. Mr. Mitra Lal Sapkota Headmaster, Tribhuvan Santi Higher Secondary School, Lekhnath
2. Mr. Krishna K.C. Headmaster, Multimodel Higher Secondary School, Pokhara
T) Two person from the Presidents of the Free Students Unions of the Campus Member
U) Registrar Member Secretary Assoc. Prof. Gobinda Prasad Sharma Registrar, Pokhara University


The University senate has following powers and functions:

  1. To decide the policy of the University.
  2. To design long-term programs for the development of the University and implement them
  3. To guide the University
  4. To conduct and manage the educational program of the University
  5. To arrange for the incorporation and affiliation of campuses
  6. To decide the degrees to be awarded by the University
  7. To direct the guide constituent as well as affiliated campuses
  8. To give permission to the University lunch new program
  9. To make the policies on educational, academic and administrative activities of the University
  10. To approve the annual budget and program of the University
  11. To discuss the annual reports of the bodies of the University and evaluate the programs
  12. To appoint the auditor and to discuss on the audit reports and approve it
  13. To pass the rules concerning the University
  14. To approve the recruitment of posts of teachers and administrative employees for the educational and administrative functions of the University
  15. To form committees, sub-committees and task forces as per the needs of the University
  16. Such other functions as may be prescribed